County Overview – Tharaka Nithi County Government

Tharaka Nithi County Overview

Tharaka-Nithi County is one of the forty-seven (47) counties in Kenya created by the Constitution of Kenya, 2010.It is located in Kenya’s former Eastern Province and a home to the Chuka, Muthambi, Mwimbi and Tharaka people of the larger Ameru (Amiiru) community. The minority being Akamba, Mbeere and Aembu all from the neighboring counties.

The headquarters of the County is at Kathwana, a site selected for its centrality through consensus by delegates being an intersection of three constituencies (Maara, Tharaka and Chuka/Igamba-ng’ombe).

The major economic activities include tea and coffee planting, subsistence crop farming, subsistence dairy farming and keeping of other livestock such as goats and sheep.

In order to boost trade within and outside the county, Tharaka Nithi like other surrounding counties has joined in formation of Mount Kenya Trading and Economic bloc that will oversee harmonization of tariffs and taxes to boost trade and improve ease of doing business in the region.

There is focused to developing strong ties with surrounding counties especially where they natural resources including Mt. Kenya, Tana River and Meru National Park to maximize benefits derived from these resources.

How can we help you?

Do you have complaints or compliments? Here’s your chance to weigh in!

“My dream is to see our county utilising its vast resources efficiently and diligently, and turning the relatively limited geographical spread of Tharaka Nithi to big advantage”

H.E Muthomi Njuki
Governor, Tharaka Nithi County

So, now, talk to us

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap