Kathwana Municipality

Kathwana municipality is one of the municipalities that came into effect pursuant to the Urban Areas and Cities Act, 2011 (amended in 2019).

This Act established a legislative framework for the classification of areas as urban areas or cities, governance and management of urban areas and cities, and participation by the residents in the governance of urban areas and cities.

Kathwana started as a goat market center in 1902, with houses made of mud. The name originated from a small tree called Muthwana (Bachemia Discolor) that grew near the Maara River.

The Municipality serves as the headquarter of Tharaka Nithi County Government and intersects all the three constituencies – Mara, Tharaka and Chuka Igamba/ngombe making it a central location to serve residents of the three constituencies.

Humphrey K. Gitonga Municipal Manager
Ignatius Mugambi Kigwari Chairman
Jasper Ndeke Shadrack Member
Esther Makena Kanyaru Member
Rael Fatuma Njagi Member
Emily Kanana Murungi Member
Dr. Fr. Peter Gichunge Member
Charles Nyaga Chabari Member
Eng. J. Nkanya CECM- Member
Faith K. Kyunga CO- Member
This message is only visible to admins.
Problem displaying Facebook posts.
Click to show error
Error: Server configuration issue

Do you want to talk to us?

We use cookies to ensure a great experience using this website. By continuing we will assume that you accept our policy on cookies.