Tharaka Nithi – Our Responsibility

In addition to shared common Identity we share a common responsibility too – Build social cohesion, by encouraging inter community dialogue and understanding – Promote economic growth – Create a community’s competitive edge in all sectors of our Nation’s development

Kenya Vision 2030

Long-term blue print for the country inspired to create a better society in 23 years Aim is to create “a globally competitive and prosperous country with a high quality of life by 2030” (Source Government of Kenya, Kenya Vision 2030) Tharaka Nithi as a Community needs to: – Identify with it – Believe in it – Rally behind it – Share in its spoils

The Road Ahead

We have to shoulder our responsibility, both individually and collectively for driving our people now and into the future We have to provide leadership and direction to our people We have collective responsibility to safeguard our common heritage

Position and Size

Tharaka Nithi County is one of the forty seven (47) counties in Kenya. It borders the Counties of Embu to the South and South West, Meru to the North and North East, Kirinyiga and Nyeri to the West and Kitui to the East and South East.

The county lies between latitude 000 07′ and 000 26′ South and between longitudes 370 19′ and 370 46′ East. The County is approximately 2,662.1 Km2; including the shared Mt Kenya forest estimated to have 360Km2 in Tharaka Nithi County.

Ecological Zone and Climatic Conditions

The county lies between altitudes 5,200m and 600m height above sea level. The county has 360 Km2 forest cover within M.T. Kenya which serves as a water catchment area for Rivers, Tourist Attraction site, Source of fuel, fodder and Honey.

Temperatures in the highland areas range between 14oC to 30oC while those of the lowland area range between 22oC to 36oC.

The county has a bi-modal rainfall pattern with the long rains between the months of April and June and the short rains between the months October to December. The county receives high rainfall of about 2,200mm in M.T Kenya Forest and low rainfall of about 500mm in Tharaka region
The high altitude areas experience reliable rainfall while middle areas of the county receive moderate rainfall. The lower regions receive low, unreliable and poorly distributed rainfall.

Physical and Topographical Features

The county has a number of Hills in its landscape, these includes: Kiera, Munuguni and Njuguni in Maara constituency, Kijege and Ntugi in Tharaka constituency.

The topography of Chuka/Igambang’ombe and Maara constituencies is greatly influenced by the Mt. Kenya volcanic activity leading to formation of ‘V’ shaped valleys within which the main tributaries of River Tana flows originating from Mt. Kenya forest. The tributaries flowing eastwards are: – R.Thuuci, R.Maara(South and North), R.Nithi, R.Mutonga, Naka, and R.Ruguti. Tharaka on the other hand is traversed by several rivers, which originate from both the Mt. Kenya and Nyambene Hills, flowing eastwards as tributaries of Tana River. These include R.Mutonga, R.Thingithu, R.Kathita, R.Thanantu, R.Thangatha, R.Kithinu and R.Ura which provides water for irrigation in the moderately densely populated locations in parts of Tharaka. The region comprises of low, hilly, stony and sandy marginal lowlands with moderate forest cover.

Population Size and Composition

The demographic features of a population are used as statistics to determine the pattern of resource allocation and utilization. The county had a total population of 365,330 as per the 2009 population and housing census. This is projected to be 399, 735 in 2012 (195,256 males and 204,479 females), 478,570 by 2017 (233,765 males and 244805 females). The county’s annual population growth rate is 1.8 per cent. Table 3a shows the population projection by selected age and sex with 2009 as the base year and projections for start of the plan period (2012), mid-term (2015) and end-term (2017) plan period.