IdentityTharaka Nithi County Emblem

Mwimbi, Muthambi, Chuka, Tharaka and Mbeere share a common identity/heritage (Thagicu, or Ngaa). We are all from a contiguous geographical area, the highlands and the lowlands east of Mt. Kenya.
We share same oral migration history from Mbwaa in 1700s through Igaironi and settled in our present region by 1730. We share great living traditions, the Council of elders acted as Executive, Legislative and Judiciary- Njuri Ncheke. We have common heroes and heroines, Mukuna Ruku, Kaura wa Bechau, Mugwe, Kibuuka, etc. Same age sets- Kaburia…

Sub-tribes and Language

Tharaka Nithi County is home to several sub tribes namely: Tharaka, Chuka, Muthambi, Mwimbi and the Mbeere who speak Kitharaka, Kichuka, Kimuthambi. Kimwimbi and Kimbeere languages respectively.

Clans are still a vital influence in Tharaka Nithi County as most of these sub tribes continue to factor in clan origins for various decision making and community activities.

Njuri Ncheke Council of elders though not as vibrant as in the past, has also played a role in growth of the Tharaka Nithi community and are still consulted in various community social issues such as politics, development and land issues.

Tharaka Nithi – Our Responsibility

In addition to shared common Identity we share a common responsibility too
– Build social cohesion, by encouraging inter community dialogue and understanding
– Promote economic growth
– Create a community’s competitive edge in all sectors of our Nation’s development

Kenya Vision 2030

Long-term blue print for the country inspired to create a better society in 23 years
Aim is to create “a globally competitive and prosperous country with a high quality of life by 2030” (Source Government of Kenya, Kenya Vision 2030)

Tharaka Nithi as a Community needs to:
– Identify with it
– Believe in it
– Rally behind it
– Share in its spoils

The Road Ahead

We have to shoulder our responsibility, both individually and collectively for driving our people now and into the future
We have to provide leadership and direction to our people
We have collective responsibility to safeguard our common heritage

Position and SizeTharaka Nithi

Tharaka Nithi County, popularly known as The Stronghold is one of the forty seven (47) counties in Kenya. It borders the Counties of Embu to the South and South West, Meru to the North and North East, Kirinyiga and Nyeri to the West and Kitui to the East and South East.
The county lies between latitude 000 07′ and 000 26′ South and between longitudes 370 19′ and 370 46′ East. The County is approximately 2,662.1 Km2; including the shared Mt Kenya forest estimated to have 360Km2 in Tharaka Nithi County.

Ecological Zone and Climatic Conditions

The county lies between altitudes 5,200m and 600m height above sea level. The county has 360 Km2 forest cover within M.T. Kenya which serves as a water catchment area for Rivers, Tourist Attraction site, Source of fuel, fodder and Honey.
Temperatures in the highland areas range between 14oC to 30oC while those of the lowland area range between 22oC to 36oC.
The county has a bi-modal rainfall pattern with the long rains between the months of April and June and the short rains between the months October to December. The county receives high rainfall of about 2,200mm in M.T Kenya Forest and low rainfall of about 500mm in Tharaka region
The high altitude areas experience reliable rainfall while middle areas of the county receive moderate rainfall. The lower regions receive low, unreliable and poorly distributed rainfall.

Physical and Topographical Features

The county has a number of Hills in its landscape, these includes: Kiera, Munuguni and Njuguni in Maara constituency, Kijege and Ntugi in Tharaka constituency.
The topography of Chuka/Igambang’ombe and Maara constituencies is greatly influenced by the Mt. Kenya volcanic activity leading to formation of ‘V’ shaped valleys within which the main tributaries of River Tana flows originating from Mt. Kenya forest. The tributaries flowing eastwards are: – R.Thuuci, R.Maara(South and North), R.Nithi, R.Mutonga, Naka, and R.Ruguti. Tharaka on the other hand is traversed by several rivers, which originate from both the Mt. Kenya and Nyambene Hills, flowing eastwards as tributaries of Tana River. These include R.Mutonga, R.Thingithu, R.Kathita, R.Thanantu, R.Thangatha, R.Kithinu and R.Ura which provides water for irrigation in the moderately densely populated locations in parts of Tharaka. The region comprises of low, hilly, stony and sandy marginal lowlands with moderate forest cover.

Population Size and Composition

The demographic features of a population are used as statistics to determine the pattern of resource allocation and utilization. The county had a total population of 365,330 as per the 2009 population and housing census. This is projected to be 399, 735 in 2012 (195,256 males and 204,479 females), 478,570 by 2017 (233,765 males and 244805 females). The county’s annual population growth rate is 1.8 per cent. Table 3a shows the population projection by selected age and sex with 2009 as the base year and projections for start of the plan period (2012), mid-term (2015) and end-term (2017) plan period.


Tharaka-Nithi County has three parliamentary constituencies; Chuka / Igambangombe Constituency shared by Meru South district, Maara Constituency in Maara district and Tharaka Constituency shared by the two districts of Tharaka South and Tharaka North.


  1. Tharaka South
    • Administrator: Mr. Charles Kathenya


  2. Tharaka North
    • Administrator: Mr. Mariciano Mutiga


  3. Chuka
    • Administrator: Mr. George Muriithi


  4. Maara
    • Administrator: Mr. Lawrence M. Aribu


  5. Igambangombe
    • Administrator: Mr. Charles Nyaga


  6. Muthambi
    • Administrator: Nancy Mbae


Tharaka North Sub County is the largest Largest covering an area of 803.4 Km2, Tharaka South is 2nd largest with 766.1 Km2, Chuka/Igambang’ombe South 3rd largest with an area of 624.4 Km2and Maara is the smallest Sub County covering an area of 468.2 Km2. There are sixty three (63) locations and one hundred and sixty four (164) sub-locations in the County.


  1. Chogoria
    • Administrator: Mr. Fredrick Chabari


  2. Chuka
    • Administrator: Mr. Boniface Nyaga


  3. Marimanti
    • Administrator: Mr. Daniel Kithuka


County Wards

Ward Administrator
1 Chiakariga – South Daniel Mwenda
2 Gatunga – North Nthigah Mitambo
3 Mukothima– North Regina Karimi
4 Nkondi – South Robert Mugambi Kajogo
5 Marimanti – South Jackson N. Kiboro
6 Chogoria – Maara Hilary Mutugi
7 Mwimbi Muriungi
8 Mitheru – Muthambi Ag. Doris I. Njue
9 Ganga – Maara Ag. Purity Gatwiri
10 Muthambi- Muthambi Annjoy Ndeke
11 Mariani – Igambangombe Agarine Mwende
12 Karingani – Chuka Janice Gatakaa Gitari
13 Igambangombe Geoffrey Nyaga
14 Magumoni – Chuka Moses Bundi
15 Mugwe – Chuka James Rwigi






Women Representative



Members of Parliament